Rudy Gobert and Milwaukee Bucks’ Giannis Antetokounmpo lead NBA’s defensive team of the year votes

Milwaukee Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo, Oklahoma City’s Paul George and Utah’s Rudy Gobert led the voting for the NBA’s Defensive team of the year. The NBA said on Thursday morning.

Antetokounmpo, Gobert and George were also the three finalists for the NBA’s Defensive Player of the Year Award. The tripple finished with nearly identical point totals.


Rudy Gobert, a center, was allotted 196 points, including 97 First Team votes, to make the NBA All-Defensive First Team for the third consecutive year while George. He received 195 points (96 First Team votes).

Antetokounmpo who has led the Bucks to the Eastern Conference finals, had 193 points to make the defensive team. He makes the cut for the first time.

Other member of the defensive team of the year is guards Marcus Smart of the Boston Celtics. Eric Bledsoe of Milwaukee is also on the list.

The winner of the 2018-19 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award will be revealed at the 2019 NBA Awards presented on June 24. The event will take place in Los Angeles.


Also read: CAF President Ahmad Ahmad under FIFA investigation over corruption charges

Gobert is seeking to win the NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award for the second straight season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: